[Burning Empires] Casiguran Matriarchy Scenario

Started by Erik Weissengruber, March 08, 2013, 01:21:35 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Erik Weissengruber

I am prepping a scenario for play in Peterborough, Ontario, this April.

It is set in the Casiguran Matriarchy.

Some smarty pants somewhere was dissing Burning Empires for a dearth of scenarios that dealt with gender. So I thought I would try my hand. I am a pretty slovenly writer so I doubt that I will ever have a quality PDF to show for my efforts. But if anyone wants my notes after the fact, I will be glad to share.

THE PLANET

Planet: Tihchion
Root Culture: Kasiguran Matriarchy
Kind of Planet: Outworld
Atmosphere: Non-Life Supporting
Hydrology: Predominantly Liquid
Topography: Artificially Created
Technology: Low Index (Spacefaring) w. Karsan bringing in High Index.

Tihchion is in the Kasiguarn Matriarchy. A deputation from the Karsan Worlds has arrived to recruit support from worlds untouched by the Vaylen. Moreover..., the Kasigurans possess a genetic strain of psychic powers -- passed matrilineally via mitochondrial DNA -- that could be of great use in the struggle.

The planet had no indigenous life, aside from microbes and lichens. To create the conditions for human-compatible life, a number of the planet's shallow Mediterranean-style seas had their inlets blocked off to form bowls. In these bowls a variety of desert-adapted species were introduced. The thin trickle of desalinated water pouring down from the inlet-blocking hydroelectric dams provided enough moisture for this artificial environment to maintain an ecosystem. Enough oxygen gathers in these bowls for humans to walk with breeding apparatus, but most people spend their entire lives in the bubbleplexes or in the cliff complexes.