Help With Distributors

Started by Kyle Daniel, July 21, 2008, 08:29:04 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Kyle Daniel

Hello all.

I've been mooching around this forum and have used it to help design a card game over the last few months. Firstly thank you to everybody for having all this information here and making it available to people like myself who are still pretty much in the dark when it comes to producing their first game. I really appreciate it.

The point of the post is that I am looking to release. The playtesting is done, the art is on its way but I need to do some number crunching and research before i see if it is worth releasing. (I am a 21 yr old student so money is a serious concern, currently balanced against my love of the hobby and my confidence in my product).

What I would like to know is whether people who have released games (or are just generally knowledgeable) have any information about distributors (primarily in the UK). I feel that this is one market I need to try and get into as well as selling it of my own back. However I know nothing about it. Any words of wisdom, contacts of good people to speak to, methods of getting it into small gaming shops or just general thoughts would be most appreciated. Hopefully I will be able to amass enough data to feel this is a worthwhile investment (I know the game is, its the return that worries me. Having more selling options open to me would make me feel much better).

Feel free to post or pm me with anything at all. If I get enough info and then follow it up I may be able to put together a post to help other people in my situation and give something back to the community.

Once again I really appreciate all the help I got through reading all your posts.

Thanks alot

Kyle

daMoose_Neo

Wow- welcome to the club, friend!
A few years ago, I was *literally* in your position; 20, wrapping up college courses and releasing a customizable card game, so I might have a hand for you.