[DitV] Questions! 2. About rules

Started by Paul T, April 17, 2010, 12:48:35 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Paul T

In the same game I was talking about here (http://www.indie-rpgs.com/forum/index.php?topic=29684.0), a few funny rules niggles came up. I'd like your input on these various points, if you have any to share.

1. I had a heck of a time challenging the Dogs. They only lost one conflict in the whole game, and it was a minor one, a one-on-one situation. And they almost never had to escalate beyond Physical, and only one Dog ever escalated to Guns, and only for one Raise (which another Dog blocked, anyhow). I had trouble with this for various reasons: this is my first time running for four players, and so I was worried it might be an issue, but it went beyond that:

* They were really effective as a party, an organized team. They worked together intelligently and coordinated their actions--I believe they were very inspired by the phrase "Three in Authority". I created a Town full of moral ambiguity in preparation for this outcome, figuring they would surely take different sides on certain issues, but they still tended to side with each other in conflicts or just stay out until it was over, even where they disagreed as Dogs, rather than show disunity.

For instance, at one point they gathered together a bunch of NPCs and led them into a house, then had each sit down in a separate room. They left one Dog to stay in the house and make sure no one left, and then took the NPCs out to the river one by one and took them on, three-on-one, until they got what they wanted. And the Dog left to stay behind was always the one who might potentially have disagreed with the other three ("You're not impartial enough to interrogate your own grandma. You stay in the house this time, and we'll take her").