[Dresden Files RPG] Learning GMing skills

Started by Jay G., September 14, 2010, 07:03:55 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Jay G.

Hi everyone, I'm Jay, and I'm new to the forge.

I'm playing a Dresden Files game (over a chat program, if its relevant) in which I am the GM.  I am relatively new to GMing, having only done so on one previous occasion for a play-by-forum-post game of Dresden.  My purpose for this thread is to identify techniques and other ways for me to be as successful as I can be at GMing.  Part of this will probably involve identifying what "successful" means. 

To put this into context:  The play-by-post game I GM'ed went rather well, and the players all said that they enjoyed it.  Still, things fizzled out after a few months of play, and the game died.  One thing that I regret from the very start of that game is that I did not adhere very closely to the collaborative city creation process outlined in the book, instead doing much of the city creation on my own while taking small amounts of input from the others when they volunteered it.  This is not a problem in my current game, as the city creation was done fully as a group, and went very well.  I doubt that the city creation thing was the reason the play-by-post fizzled though.  Of course, most play-by-posts I've seen tended to prematurely fizzle, and the format of it seems to be a possible problem, but this isn't the whole thing.  I definitely got the feel near the end that things were loosing momentum, and I was having a difficult time figuring out what I was supposed to do in order to get more conflict into the fiction.