Being a player after being a DM

Started by Kyle Van Pelt, November 04, 2011, 12:16:31 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Kyle Van Pelt

Hello all. My name is Kyle, and this is my first topic here on the Forge.

I'd like to preface this post by saying that, while I have a basic grasp of the concepts presented here (GNS, lumpley principle, and others), I have very little experience identifying those things in my day-to-day plays, and I'm also not very eloquent when it comes time to discuss those things. So please bear with me.

The question I'd like to ask is: How do you get back into the "player" mindset of enjoying a game when you've spent so long DMing or developing games?

A bit of background is in order. I started my RP experience as a DM. Nobody taught me or introduced me to the games, I just found myself at the age of 14 purchasing a book that looked cool. It was GURPS 3e, and once I had read through it enough times, I made an adventure. A friend and my younger brother played it, and while it was in retrospect a terrible game, we had fun, so we continued.

Over the years, I implemented new systems like Shadowrun, BESM, and even things like Ninja Burger and Anima: Beyond Fantasy. I didn't get into D&D until late in the game, and to this day have never done anything with White Wolf, even though it does interest me sometimes. However, I never got to experience the games from the player's viewpoint for years, since I was the only person willing to DM, and it came more or less naturally. Sometimes, someone would run a one-shot, and I'd get to play a little, but this only happened once every couple of years.