A generic RPG system designed for online forums

Started by Queshire, January 16, 2012, 04:23:39 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Queshire

Yo' I'm still pretty new at this so sorry if I screw up.

As the name suggests, I'm designing a generic RPG system for use in an online forum and I would like an advice offered.

It's still pretty much in Alpha phase but here's what I have so far;

BASIC MECHANICS

1) The basic game resolution mechanic comes from betting/spending points, if you want to do something you have to reach a target number, you have attributes and skills with static values which help get you part of the way, but you have to spend points to get the rest of the way. True, this means that the characters can accomplish whatever they try but doing so risks running out of points later on. This is kind of based off Nobelis' system, though the scale would be different.

2) You regain points for good role playing or making stuff difficult for yourself.

3) There's degrees of success, if you match the target number you just do it, no fuss about it, if you exceed the target number by a certain amount you can do it particularly well, if you get close to the target number but don't meet you might accomplish it but have some downside to it. In fact that might be the best option as you effectively get a discount on points and the downside might give you the chance to regain points.

GENERAL AND SPECIALIZED ATTRIBUTES/SKILLS

I originally thought of this for just skills, I'm not 100% sure I want it for attributes, but the more I think about the more I'm liking it,