Price targetting

Started by Graham W, July 16, 2008, 09:53:41 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Graham W

Someone asked me about price targetting, so I thought I'd explain. It's rather fascinating. I'm not an expert in this, you understand: I've read a book on it, which I found helpful.

So! This is how I understand it.

You've got a book. You're wondering how to price it.

Now, there's some people who will buy your book at $20. There's some who won't buy it at $20, but will buy it at $15.

To maximise your profit, you ideally want to sell it to the first group at $20 and the second at $15.

If you just set a flat price, you can't do this. You either set the price at $20 and sell only to the first group. Or you price it at $15, sell it to both groups, but miss out on $5 per copy, which you could have made by selling it to the first group at a lower price.

But there's ways and means.

For example, you could start selling your book at $20, then discount it to $15 after a month. That way, the first group buy it straightaway, and the second snap it up when the price falls.

Or you could sell your book at $20, but offer a discount from time to time. For example, cut the price to $15 for one week. The first group have bought it already and the second group get it when the price falls. I've done a bit of this with Play Unsafe.

Obviously this all relies on getting word out about the price drop.

Supermarkets do something similar by selling different versions of the same product. Our local Sainsbury's, for example, sells three types of steak: "Taste The Difference" (expensive), normal (mid-priced), and "Basic" (low-priced). People who don't mind paying extra buy expensive stuff; the budget-conscious by the lower-priced stuff. Is it possible to do this with games, selling a cheap-looking "budget" version? I don't know.

So there you go.

Graham

Ron Edwards

Hi Graham,