Out of fuel

Started by osaka, April 08, 2012, 08:19:54 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

osaka

Hello, this is my first try to write this kind of game. I did some larps, mostly horrors and few quasi-larps with storytelling in its center, or based on custom cards similar to those in magic: the gathering, but this time i want to try tabletop, or something similar. I'm sorry for my english, it's my second language, I promise my game will be checked by someone more educated than me before i'll post it.

As this year's theme is Last chance, my first thought was to do a game about death. About last hour(s) of someone's life. I thought about sick or old persons in some kind of hospice or similar place in which they face the possibility to change one thing they did in their lifes. But then I got my threads.

First one was disappointing, only about multiple dice mechanics, so not very inspiring. But the rest convinced me to change my previous idea a bit.

The second was about "game as a methaphor of something". I've decided that every good game can be read as methaphor, but instead I can use some inspiring, well-known for methaphors boks or art in my game. I'm not sure what it will be, but, I tend to use at least few works mentioned in the thread, including the Bible and Kafka's works.

Third one I've got is about the idea to use colors as superpowers, each with two different aspects. I've decided, that my characters will be assigned to three most important colors: green, red and blue, whitch will grant them some skills, but some disadvantages also. The powers/colors will be able to mix in other colors/powers, when players cooperate.

The fourth was about d20 setting about mages, with easy spell-casting. At first I was sceptical, but then I remembered the "color of magic" phrase, which happen to be Terry Pratchett's novel. This is when all of my ideas became one.