The Adventure Time Factor

Started by Lex Mandrake, May 12, 2012, 03:39:25 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Lex Mandrake

Hey everyone,
I'm new around here but from what I've read so far this looks like a great community.

I'm working on a casual RPG inspired by (but not directly about) cartoon networks Adventure Time. (for those who have not seen it, watch the pilot, it's great http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TgBquNTf3yE)
This was born out of something I've been noticing as a DM and a player for a long time. I started playing AD&D 2nd Edition in middle school, discovered 3rd when while I was in high school and have played 4th a little since I've been in college. There were also trists into stuff like GURPS, RIFTS, Call of Cthulhu, and many others. While players like a serious game, as we all get older and have more hectic schedules many prefer something more casual and goofy. Huge overarching plots are cool but when you have a play group that is constantly down a different member or two each week it makes more sense to be a bit more loose. I think Wizards knows this and this move toward the casual has influenced some of the stuff going on in 4th edition, and certainly this whole slew of pseudo-board game all-in-one-box D&D adventures (things like the new Gamma World). While I don't agree with all of these decisions, they were clearly done for a reason and I understand that reason.