When improvization fails. What do you do when you 'got nuthin'?

Started by stefoid, March 11, 2011, 07:12:08 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

stefoid

So last nights game I GMed petered out a bit early when I basically admitted 'I got nuthin'.  GMing by improvisation is a skill I am still learning, and whilst the session before was good, this session was not.  There were factors - circumstances conspired to rob me of any time to prep the session, even by refreshing myself about my notes, so I went in cold.  Plus I was kinda tapped out from being in meetings all day at work. 

Now I know about the concept of bangs.  I was sitting there thinking, hmm, what I need to do right now is drop a bang on these guys.  But what?  I couldnt think of anything that wouldnt seem lame and contrived.  I tried writing down a list of the unanswered questions that had been raised by play so far, and stared  at it for a while, whilst the players talked about non-game stuff.  I couldnt think of anything coherent to answer those questions right then on the spot.

Still, I feel that there must be some kind of best practices that a an improvising GM can fall back on in these situations.   What are your thoughts?  What do you successful improvising GMs do when you you come to the realization that you have absolutely no idea what happens next?

Ron Edwards

Hi Steve,

What game are we talking about? What sort of improvisation: about little things, big things, everything, or what?

Best, Ron

Frank Tarcikowski

Uh, not to shortcut Ron's questions, which I'd like to know the answers to as well, but here is a one-liner I just needed to get out:

Quote from: stefoid on March 11, 2011, 07:12:08 AM
I feel that there must be some kind of best practices that a an improvising GM can fall back on in these situations.   

There is. It is called "toilet break".